Current Features
 Past Features

Cover Story - December 2009

Southwest Contractor’s Best of 2009 Awards Honors Top Design & Construction in the Region

By Scott Blair and Tom McClure

It was a daunting job for this year’s judges to narrow down the almost 350 entries received via our new online entry system to the 64 winners you’ll read about in the pages ahead.

Civic Space

Southwest Contractor’s annual awards competition, now in its 12th year, honors the best in design and construction over the past year. Several new categories this year, such as architectural design and worship, acknowledge the excellent work and the variety of disciplines in the industry today.

The staff of Southwest Contractor would like to thank all of the firms who took time to submit their outstanding projects this year.

Some winners were eligible to compete in the McGraw-Hill Construction’s Best of the Best Awards for top honors among projects from all 10 Regional Publications throughout the U.S. This year, three Arizona projects were selected as national winners. They will be profiled in the January 4th issue of Engineering News-Record.

Judging Criteria

Project eligibility was limited to those that were completed between September 2008 and August 2009. Winning projects were chosen on how the following criteria related to the category in which the project was entered: teamwork and project management, safety, innovation, contribution to the community, overcoming challenges, construction workmanship and the functionality and aesthetic quality of the design.

A panel of judges was assembled in each state and met in September to select the winning projects. The panel included distinguished representatives from architecture firms, general contractors, engineers, developers, subcontractors and suppliers.

Judges arrived at the winners first through a scoring process, and then through discussion and consensus. Judges could select no winner in a category, and any judge affiliated with a project in a particular category abstained from voting in that entire category.

Southwest Contractor wishes to thank the following professionals who worked hard to bring you this year’s winners:

    Arizona Jury

  • William A. “Wink” Ames, Minard-Ames Insurance Services
  • Miguel Berastegui, Modern Build
  • Linnea Brudenell, Assoc. AIA, Grona
  • Beau Dromiack, AIA, RSP Architects
  • Dr. Lawrence Hansen, AMEC
  • Lee Hulbert, P.E., FNF Construction
  • Lew Laws, DPR Construction
  • Scott Macpherson and Kristen Howard, Rider Levett Bucknall
  • Scott Muller, D.P. Electric
  • Debra Retterer, Summit Builders
  • Nevada Jury

  • J.F. Finn III, AIA, Gensler of Nevada
  • Rob Dorinson, Evergreen Recycling
  • Nancy E. Johns, Perini Building Co.
  • John Lopeman, AIA, ethos | three architecture
  • Tony Illia, Construction Writer
  • New Mexico Jury

  • Linnea Brudenell, Assoc. AIA, Hartman + Majewski Design Group
  • Bruce Higgins, construction writer
  • Jerry Lucero, AIA, ARCADIS U.S.
  • Melissa Padilla-Gomez, J.B. Henderson Construction Co.
  • Eva Paul, Molzen-Corbin & Associates

Thanks to the Arizona Chapter of the AIA and the AGC, Las Vegas Chapter for graciously hosting our juries.

Come Celebrate With Us

The Arizona awards banquet will be held at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel on the morning of Tuesday, December 15th. The Nevada luncheon will be held on December 17th at the Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel. To attend, visit construction.com/events/bestof2009.

We are pleased to once again partner with the New Mexico chapters of the ACEC and SMPS to hold the New Mexico awards banquet at the Albuquerque Marriott Pyramid on December 8th. Please call Dawn Tibbetts at (505) 888-6161 to register for the New Mexico event.

On the following pages, each winning project is profiled. The project team information was provided by the submitting firm. In some cases, this information was not made available and we were unable to confirm all of the project participants. Due to space limitations, not all project participants could be listed.

All photos are courtesy of the project’s submitter, unless otherwise noted.

Best of Arizona

44 Monroe >>
67th Avenue Improvements >>
Banner Health Del E. Webb Medical Center Expansion >>
Booster Pump Station 179 >>
Broadway Recreation Center Chiller Installation >>
Chandler Echelon >>
City of Phoenix Japanese Friendship Garden Ro Ho En Restroom Building Sei Chin >>
Civic Space >>
Dilcon Community School >>
Glendale Community College Life Sciences Building >>
Goodyear Ballpark and Recreation Complex >>
HOV Bridges Hurdle Obstacles - Including Their Own Substructure >>
Interstate 10 Widening: Prince Road to 29th Street >>
Maricopa County Security Building, Phase I-VI >>
Museum of Northern Arizona Easton Collection Center >>
NAU Recreational Field Expansion >>
Phoenix Children’s Hospital Expansion >>
Phoenix College Fine Arts >>
Scottsdale Quarter >>
Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel >>
Tempe Transportation Center >>
The Gateway to the McDowell Sonoran Preserve >>
The Link >>
Two Waters SRP-MIC Tribal Government Complex >>
Wildcat Hill WWTP Improvements >>

Best of Nevada

Cashman Equipment Company Corporate Headquarters >>
Centennial Hills Library >>
City of Fernley Water Treatment Facility >>
Craig Road over I-15, NDOT #3339 >>
Dema Guinn Concourse at the Nevada State Museum >>
Golden Eagle Park >>
Hangar 7 >>
M Resort Spa and Casino >>
McCarran International Airport Terminal 3 Early Site Civil Package >>
Mirage Volcano >>
Nevada Cancer Institute >>
Ogden House Renovation/El Cortez Cabana Suites >>
Opportunity Village Engelstad Campus Thomas & Mack Employment Resource Center >>
Reconstruct Runway 7R/25L, Associated Taxiways & Install Perimeter Duct Bank Segment 4 >>
Red Rock Canyon Visitor Center >>
Salvation Army Hope Chapel >>
The Dr. Miriam and Sheldon G. Adelson Educational Campus >>
Town of Eureka Volunteer Fire House >>
UNLV Greenspun College of Urban Affairs >>
Vegas PBS/CCSD Technology Campus >>
Veterans Tribute Career & Technical Academy >>

Best of New Mexico

Aperture Center>>
Bloomfield Fire Department Headquarters >>
Chaparral Electric Warehouse>>
Chief Manuelito Middle School >>
Duranes Elementary Kindergarten & Classroom Building >>
I-40 San Mateo to Pennsylvania >>
Mariposa Community Center>>
Mesa Del Sol Innovation Park Building 2 >>
National Museum of Nuclear Science and History>>
New Mexico Magistrate Court, Dona Ana County >>
NMSBVI Early Childhood Program Facility>>
O’Donnell Hall, New Mexico State University >>
Ocotillo Performing Arts Theater >>
Our Lady of Guadalupe Franciscan Friary >>
Rail Runner Express - Phase II >>
San Jose Parish Church >>
San Juan-Chama Drinking Water Treatment Plant >>
South Valley Health Commons >>
St. Francis af Assisi Cathedral Basilica Restoration >>
Tony Hillerman Middle School >>

Click here for more Features >>




© 2015 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.
All Rights Reserved